Hyundai claims second podium result in Rally Poland Published - 03/07/2014

 Claiming its second podium result in the 2014 FIA World Rally Championship (WRC), the Hyundai Shell World Rally Team’s Theirry Nueville and his navigator and co-driver Nicolas Gilsoul claimed third place after an action-packed Rally Poland.

Neuville came through strong, fighting hard and showing the right amount of competitiveness and determination to make his way from tenth up into the podium positions. 
“It has been a positive weekend for us and I am pleased with the podium result. To come back from tenth place, where we were at the end of Friday, to third had been great achievement. This rally was hard. You had to find your confidence, and once you had that, you could be really fast. It has been a great job from the entire team this weekend,” said Nueville.
In just its seventh WRC event, the rookie team has enjoyed a positive week. 
Another group to finish in the rally was Juho Hänninen and his navigator, Tomi Tuominen. Hänninen showed some impressive pace in Poland to claim a stage win on the opening day and regularly be among the pace setters.
“I am quite happy with the rally and it has been a very good weekend for the team overall. I made no mistakes during the four days and we have shown some strong pace at times. I was happy with the set-up and, generally, it has been running perfectly,” said Hänninen.
Also coming up in the final eight was Hayden Paddon with co-driver John Kennard. Paddon scored a second consecutive rally finish in just his second event with the team, and claimed his first top eight results in his Hyundai i20 WRC, giving Paddon his best result of the season.. 
“All in all it was a good rally, one of progression, learning and enjoyment. Everyone has done a great job and personally I am pleased with the progress that John and I have made since Sardinia.Some of the stages here were definitely more suited to my style, and I think we showed what we are capable of when we have the confidence to push,” said Paddon. 
Team principal Michel Nandan said the team could be very proud of its achievements in Rally Poland. “All three crews performed strongly, had good pace and showed the potential of the Hyundai i20 WRC car when everything comes together. We have taken two stage wins in Poland and scored our second podium result -- all in only our seventh WRC event,” said Nandan.
“Considering the comparative infancy of our team, this is very encouraging. I would like to thank everyone in the team, both at the rally and back at Alzenau (the team’s headquarters at Frankfurt in Germany), for contributing. We have learned a lot from this rally, in some difficult and changeable conditions, and we look forward to Finland, which we hope will mark another step forward for our young team.”
Overall Classification after Day Four
1. S. Ogier / J. Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo R WRC) 2:34:02.0
2. A. Mikkelsen / O. Floene (Volkswagen Polo R WRC) +1:07.7
3. T. Neuville / N. Gilsoul (Hyundai i20 WRC) +2:13.5
4. M. Hirvonen / J. Lehtinen (Ford Fiesta RS WRC) +2:32.4
5. J.M Latvala / M. Anttila (Volkswagen Polo R WRC) +2:33.1
6. J. Hänninen / T. Tuominen (Hyundai i20 WRC)  +2:49.9
7. K. Meeke / P. Nagle (Citroën DS3 WRC) +4:27.9
8. H. Paddon / J. Kennard (Hyundai i20 WRC) +4:32.1
9. H. Solberg / I. Minor (Ford Fiesta RS WRC) +4:59.0
10. M. Prokop / J. Tomanek (Ford Fiesta RS WRC) +6:11.3
2014 FIA World Rally Championship for drivers’ standings
S. Ogier 166 points / J.M. Latvala 116 / A. Mikkelsen 83 / M. Østberg 66 / M. Hirvonen 52 / T. Neuville 46 / K. Meeke 38 / E. Evans 36 / M. Prokop 31 / H. Solberg 24 / B. Bouffier 18 / R. Kubica 12 / J. Hänninen 12 / O. Tanak 10 / B. Guerra 8 / C. Atkinson 6 / J. Melicharek 4 / P. Tidemand 4 / H. Paddon 4 / N. Al-Attyiah 3 / M. Gamba 2 / C. Breen 2 / J. Protasov 2 / L. Bertelli 2 / J. Ketomaa 1 / K. Al Qassimi 1
2014 FIA World Rally Championship for manufacturers’ standings
Volkswagen Motorsport 262 points / Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team 115 / M-Sport World Rally Team 90 / Volkswagen Motorsport II 82 / Hyundai Motorsport 80 / Jipocar Czech National Team 34 / RK M-Sport World Rally Team 19 / Hyundai Motorsport N 8